top of page
  • Writer's pictureCharles Luberisse

Album Review: Young Stoner Life, Young Thug, & Gunna - Slime Language 2

Written By: Mike Double G


Grade = 83% or 4 ⭐️

Track List

  1. Slatty (Feat. Yak Gotti, & Lil Duke) ⭐️

  2. Ski ✅

  3. Diamonds Dancing (Feat. Travis Scott) ⭐️

  4. Solid (Feat. Drake) ⭐️

  5. Came and Saw ( (YSL & Young Thug Feat. Rowdy Rebel) ⭐️

  6. Paid the Fine (Feat. Lil Baby & YTB Trench) ✅

  7. Proud of You (YSL & Young Thug Feat. Lil Uzi Vert & Yung Kayo) ✅

  8. Real (YSL & Young Thug Feat. Unfoonk) ✅

  9. I Like (YSL Feat. Karlae & Coi Leray) ❌

  10. Warrior (YSL Feat. T-Shyne, Lil Keed, & Big Sean) ⭐️

  11. Pots N Pans (YSL Feat. Lil Duke & NAV) ⭐️

  12. WokStar (YSL Feat. Skepta & Struck) ✅

  13. Superstar (YSL & Young Thug Feat. Future) ✅

  14. Came Out (YSL & Gunna Feat. Lil Keed) ✅

  15. Really Be Slime (YSL Feat. YNW Melly, BSlime, & FN DaDealer) ⭐️

  16. Take It To TrIal (YSL, Young Thug & Gunna Feat. Yak Gotti) ✅

  17. Trance (YSL Feat. Karlae & Young Bleu) ❌

  18. GFU (YSL, Yak Gotti, & Sheck Wes Feat. Yung Kayo) ❌

  19. Moon Man (YSL & Young Thug Feat. Kid Cudi & Strick) ⭐️

  20. Camo Te Llama (YSL Feat. HiDorrah) ❌

  21. Reckless (YSL Feat. Dolly White) ✅

  22. That Go! (YSL, Young Thug, & Meek Mill Feat. T-Shyne) ⭐️

  23. My City (Remix) [YSL & Young Thug Feat. YTB Trench] ✅

Young Thug releases Slime Language 2 with Gunna and Young Stoner Life otherwise known as Young Slime Life or simply YSL. While that’s enough to get most fans excited, he also brought an all star line up with him. Some of the features include Drake, Future, Travis Scott, Lil Baby, Lil Uzi Vert, Big Sean, Kid Cudi, Meek Mill, NAV, Rowdy Rebel, and even the incarcerated YNW Melly. Rising stars Sheck Wes, Coi Leray, Yung Blue, and Melly’s younger brother BSlime also appear on the project among others. On the producing side most of the project is carried by YSL signees. Wheezy carries the load, but Turbo and Taurus also appear on the album.

At only 29 years old Young Thug has proven to be one of the all time greats. He is one of the most influential rappers of his generation and has shaped contemporary trap music. With that being said it’s time Thug gets credit for being a CEO. Thug has signed stars like Gunna and Lil Keed who have had tremendous success. While they are the standouts, guys like Lil Duke and Yak Gotti have the potential to be the next up. The great thing about Thug is that he doesn’t just look for talent. He mostly sticks to his Atlanta routes and even puts his family on. Thug has signed his brother Unfoonk in 2019 after he served an eleven year sentence. You can hear Unfoonk on track 8, Real.

One hour and 15 minutes is long for an album but not in this case. With so many superstar appearances this project feels like a playlist more than anything else. Thug carries the album as a whole but Gunna puts in a lot of work as well. Solid will be a favorite simply because Drake is the featured artist. His appearance came as a surprise. The track list was available a couple days before the albums release and it didn’t include Solid.

Another favorite on this album will be Came and Saw featuring Rowdy Rebel. When Rowdy was released from prison Thug blessed him with a YSL chain for serving his prison sentence with out snitching on his crew. This is not the first time Thug has given a chain to an artist who is not technically signed to YSL. Other artist with YSL chains include Drake, Lil Uzi Vert, Lil Baby, and Lil Keed’s younger brother Lil Gotit. Uzi is not signed to YSL but his relationship with Thug is as tight as ever. Both artist show admiration to each other on the song Proud of You.

Some of the collaborations of this project don’t come as surprises. Thug, Gunna, and Lil Baby made the hit Chanel on the first Slime Language album. This time they reconnect on Paid The Fine”. A song which also features YTB Trench. Travis Scott has also been a frequent collaborator with both Thug and Gunna. Scott and Thug have even formed a duo named Cactus Slatt which is also signed to the YSL label. In the past he has appeared on songs like Pick Up The Phone with Thug, TOP FLOOR with Gunna, and the Hot remix with both Thug and Gunna. This time Scott appears on Diamonds Dancing a potentially hit single on this album.

Not as obviously, another good paring is Lil Duke and NAV. Duke is a YSL veteran who hasn’t become a household name but has the potential to become one. He appeared on NAV’s Good Intentions (Brown Boy 2 Deluxe Version) on the song Free Santana. On this album they pair up for one my favorite songs Pots N Pans.

Another collaboration I was unsure about was Lil Keed and Big Sean on the track Warrior. This song also features T-Shyne. Statik Selektah is known for intentionally pairing up artist who you wouldn’t expect together. This song could have appeared on The Balancing Act. To my surprise this was a very different but good pairing. Keed played to his strength with his slow/high pitched flow while Sean was able to catch the beat with his monotone/fast pace delivery. There opposite approaches made it a fun record.

This album is somewhat top heavy as MOST of the big features are on the first half of the album (Emphasis on most as Meek Mill appears on track 22). You got to respect Thug for putting nearly all his artist on this tape. Guys like Gunna and Keed were obvious additions but the artist who are going to benefit from this project the most are the lesser known artist. Lil Duke, Yak Gotti, Dolly White, HiDorrah, Strick, T-Shyne, Unfoonk, Karlae, and Yung Kayo are all YSL artist that were on this album. Projects like this allow new artist to gain a higher following which benefits both them and Thug in the long run. Young Thug is already one of the best rappers in the game. It’s time to give him his props as a boss and rap mogul. Overall, this is another good project from Thug. He collaborates with some new artist and show cases some new artist on his label. I give the project an 83% or a 4 star rating.

Best Song = Diamonds Dancing (Feat. Travis Scott)

Download: Slime Language 2

5 views0 comments


bottom of page